Graphghan

Oscar the Owl – C2C Graphghan Tips

I’ve been exploring different ways of crafting images with crochet: pixel crochet, bobble patterns, sc and c2c graphghans… A separate post about those is on the way!

I love the idea of being able to make any image using tiny color crochet squares. So much freedom!

The Crochet Crowd and Repeat Crafter Me give great video tutorials! Strongly recommend checking those out.  The process was a little odd at first, but very intuitive once you get going. For those who don’t know, a corner to corner (c2c) graphgan is a pattern that you work through by making tiny squares in diagonal lines from one corner to the other.

I found an adorable owl pattern that is actually meant for little lego type bricks. My mom loves owls so I decided to make it for her.

Looks easy as pie, right? Takes a little practice!

Here are some tips I picked up along the way.

  1. Messy yarn

I thought I had chosen a really simple starter pattern. The image looks deceptively simple. I needed a lot of different color bobbins and then every time you do another horizontal, you have to flip the piece over.

There must be an easier way to deal with this. I ended up using ziplock bags. Worked a treat! If anyone has any other tips I would love to hear them! 

2.  Color Bobbins

Use color bobbins. I tried to ‘cheat’ and weave color yarns through, which can work fine if the squares are the same color. However, if it is a different color, don’t do it! Just make a new bobbin, trust me, it’s worth the trouble.

3. Mark your pattern as you go

I kept track of every diagonal as I was doing it. Only once I made a mistake and had I not been marking it, I would have gotten really lost and spent valuable time finding my place.

I had my computer in front of me and used colored lines to keep track.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 13.56.37

4. Plan ahead

When you are switching colors, check your pattern. When will you need that color again? You may want to carry it forward and stitch over it so it is ready to pick up a few rows down.  If not, you can just hang it over the other side.

If you don’t plan ahead and then you can’t carry that yarn over, you’ll have to make another bobbin…

I’m really happy with how he turned out. For my next C2C graphghan I will choose a pattern with fewer colors. Just for a little break and relaxation!  I will definitely be doing more of these and making my own patterns too.

Leave a Reply

